We are never too old…

Standard

A couple of weeks have passed since my English boyfriend moved in. Things are going surprisingly well, all things considered (my OCD, the fact that Greeks and English have different cleaning standards, the fact that I’ve never lived with someone before apart from flatmates, the fact that he wants a cuppa every morning etc etc).

So we (well, I) thought it would be nice to go meet my parents, who were obviously quite eager to meet him.

Now my parents have only met two of my boyfriends, and the last one was around 2002, so it’s not something I do everyday – more like once every decade. And it’s a thing that makes me slightly nervous – and obviously now there was an extra difficulty, my bloke doesn’t speak Greek (despite my huuuuuuuuuge efforts) and I don’t think he will in the foreseeable future (though his accent is pretty good).

We watched “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” before we went to visit – not that my family is a lot like that, but still I thought it would be a funny movie to watch together. In retrospect, we should really have watched it afterwards. Oh well.

So there we were, on our way to “Meet the Parents”, wondering if it was too late to turn around and pretend we were sick, we had a flat tire or something similar. But in the end we got there.

To be honest, it’s been a while since I had seen mom and dad so happy. I guess all parents want their children to be happy, which is fair enough and quite cool.

So we had some green tea, to begin with, and then some of my mom’s tiropita and spanakopita – you can’t really go to a Greek parents’ house and not leave with a full stomach. That was followed by some red wine… and lots of talking about nothing and everything – weather, family, sports, travelling and so on.

But that was not all.

As some of you know, I have a grandma. She will be 99 next month, and is a little blind and a little deaf (but her mind still works fine). So I asked her if she wanted to meet him. She hesitated at first, as “she wasn’t dressed up”… but in the end curiosity won, and she decided she wants to meet him.

So I thought… why don’t I teach her how to say “γεια σου” (= hello) in English.

She initially found the thought amusing, but she gave it a go. After three or four efforts, she got it right. “Hello” – with a Greek accent, but it was absolutely crystal clear.

So they met, and she was smiling the whole time.

And then, when we were leaving, she asked me how to say “αντίο (goodbye) 🙂

We are never too old to try new things!

P.S. Meeting the parents was not too bad after all 🙂

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

Leave a Reply

