Carnival Part 1: Carnival in Recife – Olinda

Standard

So… the day had arrived. Carnival was starting, and the municipalities of Recife and Olinda had planned lots of activities. So Jose and I made our way to see some of the free concerts planned for the evening.

The only thing that could go wrong was…the weather. Rain was there again, and LOTS of it…

Nevertheless the Brazilians didn’t seem to notice it, as they were dancing to the music – which was great, with lots of popular musicians appearing for free.

Image

If my mood had been better, I would probably have enjoyed that night a lot more… But I had had enough rain by that time, and I promised myself that if the weather didn’t improve, I would leave soon. My friends Tiina and Andreas were going to Rio for the carnival. Being Finnish / Swedish, they had planned it since September 2011, and had asked me to join but, being Greek, “I hadn’t made up my mind”, much to Tiina’s amusement 🙂 However, I still wanted to go to Salvador, which was about 10 hours on the bus away from Recife…

The following day I went back to Olinda. There was a party atmosphere, with no rain, so I rather enjoyed it, and met some nice people who were really happy to meet a Greek woman – or they had guns in their underwear 😛

Image

After a few hours in Olinda I decided to go back home…

…bad idea… Buses were full, taxis were impossible to get and it started to rain A LOT… I thought this was bad already… I was wrong – when I finally managed to get a bus, the driver dropped me off at a completely wrong part of the city, and I had to walk for about a half-hour in the dark, on a rather big avenue, cars splashing water on me. This was one of the (few, overall) times in the whole trip when I started wondering “What the hell am I doing here?”…

After about three hours total, I managed to get home soaked, cold and miserable. Luckily a delicatessen supermarket was open, and I went in to have a very expensive gourmet soup. It was good though and it somehow made me feel better. As the English say, “soup is good for you”. Indeed.

It was time to move on. And the next destination was Rio… Sometimes you have to be under pressure to take decisions. I got a couch with Eduardo who we had Christmas dinner with… https://vanidio.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/christmas-in-rio/ and Jose helped me book a flight for the next day.

Time for some sun – and time to meet some friends I haven’t seen for a while 🙂

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

One response »

  1. Pingback: The first days of 2013… « vanidio

Leave a Reply

