(Un)guided tour

Standard

The next day we rented a buggy, and off we were. After driving for an hour or so, and passing by some nice places, we finally arrived to what was supposed to be “the best beach of the island”. I had seen several pictures, and thought I knew what to expect, but what I saw was really beyond imagination…

Image

…then again, this is only a picture. That beach was really really amazing, and I couldn’t wait to get there.

However, I soon realized that to go to that beach, we would have to go down some very steep steps! That was kind of intimidating, but getting to the beach was very important. I let Flavio go down first, and followed him.Image

After five or ten minutes of going down ladders and stairs, we were finally on the beach… with about 10 or 15 other people. I was really excited to be there, and more so when Flavio suggested that we go snorkelling.

That was the first time in this entire trip that I really wished I had an underwater camera. The water was a very deep blue colour, but also very transparent, and we could see lots of multi-coloured exotic fish swimming in all directions… It was an amazing feeling, and I was very thankful to Flavio for bringing me there.

We stayed on the beach for sometime, relaxing, talking and taking silly touristic pictures – one of my best beach days in Brazil so far.

Image

Later on, we moved to another beach, with strange rock formations. Not too suitable to swim, but definitely suitable for nice pictures!

Image

… we took even more pictures with the landscape…

Image

…and we couldn’t resist going to see the sunset from the most famous part of the island. The visibility was not great, but it was still very nice up there.

Image

Yes, I know what those two mountains look like, and everyone seems to think the same 😛

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

One response »

Leave a Reply

