Last day in Noronha

Standard

Flavio and I decided to meet on my last day on the island, to go to one of the most remote beaches.Getting there was great, and we took a bunch of pictures again!

Image

Sitting here in cold and grey London, I can’t believe I was there a few months ago… It’s time for some beach again…

Image

Unfortunately all good things must come to an end, so we had to leave the beach in time for my plane.

Flavio proved to be an interesting guy and a great guide at the same time! I am sure that without him the Noronha experience wouldn’t have been half as interesting 🙂

Verdict: If you ever go to Fernando de Noronha, don’t do a guided tour… rent a buggy and go around the island on your own… or – even better – try to meet Flavio who will take you around!!! Just learn some Portuguese first! 🙂

I left the island with kind of mixed feelings… This island is very very beautiful, with some of the most amazing beaches I have ever seen, and snorkelling was fantastic, however I think it is quite overpriced (especially the scuba diving) and perhaps a little overrated. Also, it’s a very touristic place – even though it’s not very crowded, everything goes around tourists! Even nightlife is strange, as the people who work as guides / scuba instructors during the day will be the people playing drums in nightclubs in the evening, and asking you to dance with them when they are not playing…  

(…I think I am risking being hated by all my Brasilian friends… but well, I don’t like to lie! At the same time, coming from a beach country, I have very high standards when it comes to islands and beaches!)

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

One response »

Leave a Reply

