Pipa beach

Standard

I had been told about that wonderful beach a long time ago, and had laughed a lot about the name… (those who speak Greek obviously understand why…) so when Marcelo suggested going there I was very happy (not because of the name…)

Image

We picked up another friend, and off we were. The village is about an hour and a half away from Natal, making it possible for a day trip – but it’s best to stay there for a day, or a week 🙂

Arriving at the first beach, we had a lot of fun trying to take those stupid jumping pictures with Marcelo – we didn’t really manage!

Image

The second beach was really quite amazing… A big stretch of sand with rather few waves, and lots and lots of trees behind it! To reach the beach we had to go down a lot of stairs, so it was quite secluded and quiet – a bit crowded nevertheless.

We rented canoes and went around for an hour or so – going back was slightly challenging due to the strong current, but a lot of fun nevertheless. I almost left a CV with the surf school – my other next job!

Image

After all this driving and swimming and paddling, it was time for a quick shower and dinner! We had some of the best fish I had in Brazil – can’t remember the name of course…

Image

I walked around the streets of the village, trying to find a T-shirt for my friend Spyros. By now I was 100% sure that no Greek has been here ever before, as there SHOULD be at least one T-shirt with the words “I love PIPA”…

Failing to find the T-shirt, we made our way to a reggae party in a bar. As the world is small, I met one of the artisans that I had met two weeks ago in Jericoacoara! I was introduced to the other artisans, politely refused maconha (= marihuana) that was offered to me several times, and had a beer, and two, and three.

At some point I noticed someone who I could not really describe as “attractive”… but, as he was a capoeira teacher, he was definitely very very very fit, and made no efforts to hide it as he walked around with just a pair of jeans. The next minute he noticed me too, and came closer to talk to me – but as soon as he realised I was a foreigner, he didn’t really try to make a conversation. Instead he let Marcelo’s friend know that he was interested in spending the night with me. Marcelo’s friend being slightly drunk, he came to tell me the hot news, indicating that the guy is very fit, in case I hadn’t noticed.

As far as I can remember, this was the first time in my life that someone actually needed a translator to come and talk to me….!!! But I decided to decline the indecent proposal… I’m sure there are slightly cleverer Brasilians out there 🙂

The next day was two more beaches… or rather one, with two different bays, and pretty different landscapes from what I had seen so far. Not only lots of sand and palm trees, but also big black rocks.

Image

…and if at least one of you reading this are wondering – yes, I only have one bikini for this whole trip, just as I have about six identical basic T-shirts…

Image

Leaving Pipa was really sad – but after all, I had a flight to Noronha, so I couldn’t really stay longer! I spent the next day reading about that faraway island, and relaxing – apparently Noronha needs a lot of energy. Marcelo took me to the airport and I set off…

Marcelo was definitely one of my best hosts ever, and once again I realised how much difference it makes to have a great host – who is also extremely patient when you are being “slightly” indecisive. I’ll keep that in mind for the future, when I start hosting again!

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

Leave a Reply

