Back to Fortaleza

Standard

Going back to Fortaleza, I stayed for a couple of days with David, my host in Rio, and his (extended) family! I hope I didn’t upset their daily routines, but it was nice staying with a family and having talks about Greece in my broken Portuguese.

I stayed for a few more days with Ligi, the girl I had met in Jericoacoara. We visited a couple of extremely exploited beaches around Fortaleza, that I didn’t like at all, and another one, Prainha, that was more my thing – but not hers, so we sadly didn’t spend enough time there. Yet I had the time to take pictures of some strange boats.

Image

At that time I also met Toby, a very interesting Viking who was visiting his Norwegian friend Marius. It was the first time I was going around with someone that actually looked like a gringo, and suddenly started realising that not looking like a gringa is a very good thing. I somehow managed to not have any pics with Toby, but we made some funny ones at a place where we had lunch, on Cumbuco beach…

Image

The CS world is small, and a French guy, Ritchy, arrived to Fortaleza – he is a friend of someone I had hosted 5 years ago… He invited us to a dinner at his place, and I offered to marry him, as his curry chicken was simply out of this world! (I am still single though :P)

The last night in Fortaleza was one of my worst moments in Brazil so far, in terms of feelings… I decided to go out for dinner with the CSers, but as Ligi didn’t want to come with me, I told her that I would stay with Ritchy – she seemed ok with that, if a little concerned. Later Ritchy asked me if I would mind staying with Marius instead, and ofcourse I didn’t, since he seemed ok with that too.

Around 23.00, as we were having a nice dinner with a few beers, she called me to say that I can’t go back to her place, and she has to bring me my stuff… I really started getting worried, as my stuff was all over her place, so I suggested going back to get it with a taxi… but she said I couldn’t go back and she had to bring it herself, now.

Waiting for her was perhaps my most stressful time in Brazil. In the end everything was ok, and Marius said I could stay at his place as long as I wanted – which was very nice of him. Eitherway I had already decided to leave for Natal the next day. We dropped my stuff at Marius’ place, and went out with Toby for a caipirinha – or rather three. It was the first time that I paid 10 reals for a caipirinha – obviously I shouldn’t hang out with gringos 🙂

On the next day I just spent some time relaxing on Marius’ hammock!!!

Image

And in the evening I set off for the bus station. This was by far the worst bus ride so far, because the city bus was extremely full, and it dropped me off around 500 metres from the rodoviaria, which (as all rodoviarias I’ve seen in Brazil) was not situated in exactly the best part of the city to walk alone at dark with a big backpack.

Oh well, I’ve survived!

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

One response »

Leave a Reply

