Active Natal

Standard

After a few lazy (and very indecisive) days, it was time to do a few things… The very next day, Marcelo arranged a buggy tour for me! So there I was, together with a Brazilian family (dad, mom and daughter) going to Genipabu’s sand dunes with yet another buggy.

Image

The whole ride was alright, but very touristic, as we stopped in more than 10 places offering clothes, food, drinks, more drinks, more food. At least I took a couple of nice pictures of kangas dancing in the wind!

Image

And had fun watching the Brazilian dad slowly getting drunk with beers and caipirinhas, even before 1pm 😛

One of the most interesting parts of the ride was crossing the lake on buggy rafts…

Image

…and ofcourse, the way the buggueiros drive up and down the sanddunes, which is pretty crazy at times – just like a rollercoaster.

Unlike Jericoacoara, when our driver didn’t seem quite professional (although he was a good driver), Natal has about 720 buggy drivers who belong to a union. According to our driver, this activity is popular throughout the year, and training to be a buggueiro isn’t really an easy task. There are about 10 women drivers there.

If I hadn’t been to Jeri I would probably have enjoyed this a lot more – overall I found it nice, but way too touristic.

Going back home, I had a talk to Marcelo about possibly going to an island one hour east of Brazil, Fernando de Noronha, that a couple of friends had recommended. He was so extremely nice, helping me with my decision and with booking tickets and everything, that I felt quite bad for wasting his time… Obviously I’ve done the same thing numerous times for my guests, but I was really impressed by his eagerness to help – and his “I’m not doing anything special” attitude! 

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

Leave a Reply

