Leaving Jericoacoara

Standard

Today it’s 8 March – woman’s day – and as I’m on a 14-hour bus ride in Argentina, I have finally found time to write about what happened in the end of January. I do wonder how other travellers keep up with their blogs…!!!

After about a week to Jericoacoara, it was time to get back to Fortaleza and start making my way to the east, for the carnival in Recife…

So I went to the beach to take some last pictures, and I found another job I could be doing in the future…. A barraca owner!

Image

But for now, it was time to go. I decided to have a last coconut water thingy, and went to a place by the beach – a bluesman that I had seen the previous day was there. He had been singing the blues for years, without speaking a word of English, just memorising the sounds (with a good American accent too). We had a talk and took a picture, and off I went.

Image

Of all places in Brazil so far, that would be the number one to come back to. Due to its rather faraway location I really think it’s unlikely that I’ll go back – but who knows really… There are, apparently, flights from Milano to Fortaleza 🙂

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

One response »

Leave a Reply

