My life in numbers so far since 10/11/2011

Standard

Days on the road = 80
Money spent = roughly 8100 reals = 3600 euros (yikes… it’s time for Bolivia or some other pocket-friendly country… but Noronha blew the budget, even though I was stealing food from the breakfast table)
Flights taken = 8, the last 5 in the last 20 days…
Weight of backpack = 14 kilos… shit!!!!! Then again I’m carrying both sunscreen and a heavy winter jacket as I’m not sure if I’m going to Patagonia or Carribean… (and for those who will comment “get a new sunscreen” – have you any idea of sunscreen prices in Brazil???)

Lowest temperature = 19
Highest temperature = 35, feels like 45 I suppose (that was today, in Foz do Iguazu)
Days of rain = around 55

Photos taken = 2700
Photos taken during the carnival = 450

Number of hosts = 19
Number of people I’ve had a conversation of 5 minutes or more with = I’ve lost track, I can speak some portuguese now…
Number of new friends I’ve made = too early to tell

Number of new types of fruit I tried = around 20 (in the north they have so many more types of fruit!!!)
Number of coconut trees I’ve seen = around 1.000.000

Number of times I’ve missed a greek salad = around 25 (and I’m in serious need of feta cheese for an upcoming dinner…)
Number of times I’ve missed greek winter = exactly 0, but it’s cool to see pictures of Athens and snow

Number of people back home that I would have liked to take with me on this trip – about 10 or so

Number of places I’d definitely go back to = 2… but I won’t disclose the names 🙂

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

6 responses »

  1. 80 μέρες… σχεδόν τρεις μήνες. Πολύ καλά!
    3600 ευρώ, χωρίς ξενοδοχεία ίσως είναι λίγο παραπάνω αλλά όχι και τραγικά άσχημα.
    14 κιλά; Psycho!
    55 μέρες βροχής, πολύ ρε παιδάκι μου
    2700 φωτό, νορμάλ αριθμός για τόσες μέρες, περίπου 35 την μέρα. Γράψε όμως αριθμό που θα κρατήσεις!
    Αν δεν σου χει λείψει ο Ελληνικός χειμώνας είναι ξεκάθαρο ότι δεν έχεις γνωρίσει τον Ελληνικό χειμώνα, βάλτο στη λίστα σου για όταν επιστρέψεις.

    Καλή συνέχεια, και φρόντισε να ελαφρύνεις λίγο το σακίδιο για να μην είσαι θείτσα με μέση γιαγιούλας!

    • Το Noronha ηταν εντελως εκτος budget!!! 5 μερες στο Noronha ηταν σχεδον 2000 reals!!!!

      Κατα τα αλλα, για να ελαφρυνω το σακιδιο πρεπει α) να αφησω πισω το λαπτοπ, τα lonelyplanetguides και το μπουφαν β) να κουρευτω ωστε να μην εχω μαζι σαμπουαν, κρεμα κτλ κτλ κτλ… φιλε Πετρογιαννη οταν αποφασισεις να αφησεις μαλλια πες μου 🙂

      • Καλά, πόσο ζυγίζει το μπουφαν σου; Και πόσο το λαπτοπ? Και πόσο τα μπανιερά.

        Ένα ζεστό πουπουλένιο μπουφάν ζυγίζει γύρω στα 800-900 γρ. Άλλo ένα κιλό ζυγίζει ενα netbook, και άλλο ένα τα μπανιερά σου (σαμπουάν, οδοντόβουρτσες κρέμες κλπ). 3 κιλά λοιπον. Τα άλλα 11 τι είναι?

  2. Bravo Vanessa! Keep on going!
    Απιστευτο, πάνω απο τρεις μήνες στο δρόμο!
    Ειδες τελικά το μικρόβιο της περιπλάνησης ειναι ζορικο,
    Φιλια και να προσέχεις, λενα

Leave a Reply

