Leaving Brazil tomorrow…..

Standard

 I haven’t written anything for the last month… but I will!

However, this moment in the trip is important for me… becase after almost three months here, I’m leaving Brazil tomorrow with my friends Tiina and Andreas… and I’m getting kind of sentimental!

Top-5 places
a) Jericoacoara
b) Pipa beach
c) Rio, the second time round
d) Olinda
e) Noronha (this island in the middle of nowhere would probably be higher on the list if it wasn’t so expensive, or if everything wasn’t so touristic, or if I had managed to complete the scuba dive)

Iguazu falls is also pretty amazing, but a bit overcrowded and quite touristic!

Will be back for Bahia… and hopefully Pantanal, Amazon, Sao Luis and Lencois Maranheses that I very stupidly missed!!!
It’s totally impossible to write my top-5 moments in this trip – because they are not just 5. Instead I’ll write my top-5 experiences that I could have avoided!
a) arriving at Rio airport at 10pm and wondering if it’s safe to get a taxi
b) getting the bus from the rodoviaria in Fortaleza to Natal at 7pm with all my luggage on an extremely crowded bus
c) getting soaked in Tijuca forest in Rio
d) getting soaked waiting for a bus (that never came) in Recife
e) finding myself wondering if I’m actually being kicked out of a house, or if it was simply a language problem…

There have also been times I’ve missed certain people, or times something wasn’t going so well. One thing I’ve come to realise (and most people tend to agree) is that we are so used to our daily routines, that doing something totally new – that doesn’t fit in our lives – is quite difficult…

I chose to start this trip without a major plan, and also chose to go very slowly (I’m sure other people would have been to three times more places than me, and perhaps with half the budget if they had planned their flights in advance, for example)… But this is part of the learning process.

I know where I will be tomorrow, but I have no clue where I will be after March the 8th, which is actually in a week’s time…

Next stop: Iguazu waterfalls, Argentinian side… and then… Buenos Aires 🙂

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

5 responses »

    • a) It IS safe. I was just worried and jetlagged. What isn’t TOO safe is getting in a brasilian bus with all your stuff, especially since you have to go through a turnstile in the bus 😛 (I hope that this changes by 2016, when the Olympic games are due in Rio…)

  1. “One thing I’ve come to realise (and most people tend to agree) is that we are so used to our daily routines, that doing something totally new – that doesn’t fit in our lives – is quite difficult…”

    tell me about it!!! lol

    I m one month here in Milan, and now I get to realise how much I miss my routine….Everything is so damn new for me. And I totally miss my friends. Which – like you mention – are not more than 10 people.

    Kisses girl, I miss you so much

    O.

Leave a Reply

