When I grow up I want to be a buggy driver

Standard

Since there are CS people everywhere, and Jeri is a popular destination, two CS girls came to Jeri: Barbara, from Porto Alegre, and Ligi, her host from Fortaleza. It was great to spend some time with “girls”!

One evening we caught a local band playing… The singer, Henrique, looked SO much like my Turkish friend Tayfun!

Image

And then Barbara invited me to go with her on a buggy tour. I wasn’t too sure about it, as I didn’t know if it was worth the money, but I decided to try… And I am so happy I did, that day has been one of my best days in Brazil so far.

I had never been in a buggy before – or if I had, it was too long ago and can’t remember 🙂 Buggy rides are common in north Brazil, as there is no other way to drive on sand – well, I can drive my Starlet… but it feels a lot better with a buggy!.

After driving on sand for a while, and crossing some dunes, we got to the first lagoa, and a pirate helped us cross it.

Image

Swimming in a lagoa isn’t so bad – though it’s a lot more difficult to float than in the sea… I had forgotten that there’s no salt in lagoas!

And it was great to relax on a hammock in one of them…

Image

(this is my favourite picture from the trip so far… absolute bliss…)

We spent the next hours going up and down the dunes, and seeing lagoas, and chatting with Barbara and a guy from Venezuela that was with us. It was a really interesting day, and – the best of all – I got to drive the buggy!

My next job might be a buggy driver!

Image

Next time I’ll go for a buggy tour I’ll remember to a) put MORE sunscreen b) bring something to cover myself – I was so grateful for the Venezuelan guy’s kanga 🙂

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

Leave a Reply

