Sitio Paraiso… Paradise house

Standard

Two weeks (!) after leaving Jeri, I have finally found some time to write about my week there… Who said that when you travelling you have all the time in the world???

One day I decided to go check an oasis that I had seen when I was on the dune. I had never been to an oasis before, so I thought It was a good idea.

Image

After walking for about a half hour, I found myself in an area surrounded with wire, and a wooden gate. Curiosity killed the cat – but I decided to see if I’ll survive…

Passing through the gate, the first “thing” I saw was a pig. A pretty big one. I had no idea if pigs attack people. Stories from Asterix the Gaulle and Hannibal came into my mind, but I decided to think positively.

No pig attack – phew.

Next thing – I was standing in front of a house… Sitio Paraiso

Image

Next thing – a tanned, skinny Brazilian guy in his late 40s came to say hello. I asked him if it’s ok to be there and he said that his house is open to everyone. He introduced himself as “Cisco” and he explained that he came from a family of fishermen from Jericoacoara. When the village started getting popular, his brothers decided to work with tourists. He was the only one who decided he doesn’t care about money… he just wanted his house, his land – full of coconut trees, pigs and hens – and his peace and quiet.

Image

Cisco showed me around his oasis and introduced me to three backpackers from Spain who were staying there for a few days. I had a chat with them and decided to make my way out of the oasis… and then Cisco told me he wanted to show me another house he owned, where and Italian guy had spent 5 years.

I couldn’t quite believe what I saw in the middle of the oasis… a wooden house, with a huge living room, a really big kitchen, and two equally big bedrooms, all decorated with wooden furniture and some sculptures. If I understood correctly, Cisco would rent the house to anyone interested for a really small amount of money – but my Portuguese isn’t so good yet!

As I was thinking that this was the most surreal day so far, going out of the house there were three Italian women taking pictures of each other, posing like models in a bikini advertisement. I was very tempted to take a snapshot, but instead I asked them to take a picture of me in that crazy place.

Image

Of all places I have seen so far in Brazil, this is the one I would definitely love to come back.

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

4 responses »

  1. Love it!!

    And… “who said that when you travelling you have all the time in the world?”, I can only back you up on that! 😉 Keep it up :)))

Leave a Reply

