Brasilian summer in Jericoacoara

Standard

The first thing I noticed in Jeri was the weather. Finally, no rain. A few clouds, but no rain! Finally! Erasmo, my host was waiting for me at the bus stop! (Oh yes, there are CS hosts even in Jeri!) I dropped my bags at his place and met his lovely girlfriend Renata. As they were busy with work, I made my way out to explore the dunes with Paulo, a CSer from Fortaleza.

Going for a walk on the dunes was one of the most amazing things I have done in my life. Huge stretches of soft, warm, white sand, combined with views of palm trees, sea and a grey-blue sky. Walking up or down the dune seemed extremely difficult, but it was a lot easier than I expected. Of course, going down was easier than going up!

Image

It’s very hard to describe how happy something as simple as walking on the sand can make you. No wonder so many foreigners come and live here…

As Erasmo and Renata had some friends coming, I soon moved out of their home. The normal pousadas were pretty expensive, so I got a cheap room in a local house – and later found another cheap room in another local house, as chasing cockroaches at 4 am is really not my thing…

{I am very proud of myself though, as I haven’t panicked once with insects so far in Latinamerica. Could it be that I will finally overcome this stupid fear for bugs and insects of all kinds?}

In the next few evenings I was hanging out with Erasmo and his friends, the local artesans. I met Bruno from Argentina, Fernando from Colombia, and a bunch of other people who were either working on the street or travelling around. I met Elizabeth, an Uruguayan girl who liked girls (and she liked me quite a bit), and we discussed about relations, men and women… For a few days I spoke a “mistura” of Portuguese, Spanish and Italian. But overall people could understand me, and I was happy with that 🙂 We even discussed the crisis in Greece!

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

