Food

Standard

I’m realising this is about the second time since I joined CS that I actually stayed with a couple! And this makes a HUGE difference, as we got to cook quite a few times 🙂

Soooooooooo it was really nice to cook some (hopefully not too bad) Greek food for the guys… Chicken with potatoes and lemon sauce, strapatsada (my favourite scrambled eggs with tomatoes), lentil soup, briam (the Greek version of ratatouille) and Greek salad (well, “caipira” salad to be exact).

The guys said they liked everything, but a) next time I’ll make sure I use less lemon in the chicken b) next time I’ll bring with me some Greek feta, as Brasilian feta didn’t look like feta, and the Greek salad wasn’t exactly as we know it. Well, Minas cheese is really good… But it’s not feta!!!

This is what happened after the dinner. Some things never change… I’ll cook something different next time.

Image

Apart from my homemade Greek food, and some delicious dishes Renata prepared for us, I’ve tasted several strange dishes, fruits and juices so far, and I have many favourite things!!!

– Acai!!!! This fruit comes from the Amazon area and I haven’t seen the real fruit yet – just the thick, sorbet-like juice they make out of it. They normally serve it with a spoon, and it tastes like… acai – I don’t think I have eaten anything similar before. Apparently it has too many calories, but I haven’t checked.. I was very lucky as my host from Belem offered me REAL Acai, straight from his homecity… very different!

– All juices from strange fruits I have never seen before… I still confuse their names, but it’s not a big deal as they are all good!

Image

– Pao de queso! Well – I love cheese and bread – so I loved the brasilian cheesebread! And in fact… Minas cheese, similar to Greek ανθότυρο, and ofcourse… catupiry cream cheese. Especially combined with palmito. Yum..

– Anything containing mandioca, or mandioquinha, or whatever they call it. Fried, baked, in a soup, in anything.

– Polvilho biscuits, especially Gloibo. A rather healthy snack – a bit like pop corn, but a lot more addictive.

– Almost all cooked food I tried from a buffet. I think the best one was on the day after the rainforest (when I was starving). Lots of quiche-type pastries, quite heavy, but delicious nevertheless. Similar to a soufflé, or a pie.

One thing I hate about food here is that eeeeverything seems to contain sugar. Finding bread with no added sugar is quite difficult – and when I found some, the words “Does not contain sugar” were clearly marked on the package. For a country whose economy is so much related to sugar I suppose it’s normal… but it’s still frustrating if you are trying to avoid it!

Another thing I found strange is that people seem to drink fruit juice with their meals. Ofcourse beer is very common too, but I think wine is rare.

And of course, bottled water is quite expensive if you are buying the convenient half litre bottle…

As for caipirinha – whereas in Europe I don’t like it, here it makes a lot more sense. Even when it rains! There are several kinds of cachaca – I even tried one with lemon, a bit like limoncello – I didn’t like it. But the caipirinha is good – and pretty strong too!

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

