Leaving Rio

Standard

Waking up at 7.30 am wasn’t so easy, but I somehow managed.

Getting the bus to Rodoviaria Novo Rio, the bus station, was less of an adventure than I had expected, but the Rodoviaria itself is situated in a very seedy part of the city, to say the least. I was pretty amazed to see the bus to Sao Paulo, with reclining seats, a foot rest and a very cosy blanket, which was absolutely necessary with all that air-con. If it wasn’t for the fantastic green landscape – at least all that rain had some effect – I could have slept for six hours straight.

I realised I left Rio with mixed feelings… I had met so many people in just over three weeks, and several stood out… David (my first “formal” host in Rio), Diana (the multi-talented fairy), Jorge (the classical guitarist / sociologist), Kamille and her family, Cal (the traveller), Marcelo (the music-and-caipirinha lover), Eddie (the host and singer), Dario (who “never got a chance to host me”), Mary Ellen (who invited us to the favela), Charles (the blues singer), Rudi (the funny italian guitarist), Renan (always smiling guy), a juggler whose name I don’t remember, Martin and the rest of the Rainbow people… and so many more…

Yeah, I didn’t go to the Sugarloaf, but I saw Rio from top of Rocinha…Sure, I didn’t go to Feira Nordestina, but I had different home-made dishes… I didn’t swim in Copacabana, but I spent several hours talking about racism in Brazil… I didn’t get drunk in Lapa, but tried several new Brasilian beers and had great home-made caipirinhas…

Could I ever live in Rio? Perhaps, if it wasn’t raining so much and if the bus drivers drove a little more devagar 🙂

Eitherway, I’ll be there again – perhaps for the carnival, perhaps not. Can anyone really plan the future?…

 

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

3 responses »

  1. Hey Vani! Just catching up with your blog. Say, ever thought of building up a map through Google’s Map service to show us where you’ve been so far?

    It would allow you trace down where you went for future reference at the same time. I went a bit extreme with it, but this shows you it’s potential…

    http://www.corbeauperdu.com/wp-content/plugins/xml-google-maps/xmlgooglemaps_show.php?mygooglemapid=4&fullscreen=1

    But then again, I’ve always told you to NOT spend too much time worrying about the blog and such… Writing little notes for yourself perhaps, not worrying about others is more important. Reading you reminds me of…. A nice read :)) Keep it up!!!

    Your friendly frenchy canadian 😉

    Pat xo

Leave a Reply

