Christmas in Rio

Standard

I normally spend Christmas with my family. This was the second Christmas in my life that I didn’t. Strange feeling – also it was strange to have a sunny Christmas!

So, I spent most of Christmas’ eve at the park with Dario, a really interesting guy who is more into yoga than me, and we ended up doing a little yoga… I realised how much I had missed it! He does a type of yoga I’ve never heard of before – SwáSthya yoga – which I’d really like to try.

In the evening we were supposed to go to a wild party in a hip neighbourhood with Jorge, my current host who is a musician. However we passed by a dinner party first… and never left. There were about ten cool cool people, and after dinner we started to jam… and the jam went on, and on, and on…! Eduardo, our host for the evening, has a fantastic voice – and he’s very funny too! Jorge played some classical guitar at the end… we left at 5am or so!

On Christmas day I went to Ipanema and Copacabana to have (what else) a few beers. People here seem to have “a beer” all the time 🙂 Even under the rain…!

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Carnival Part 1: Carnival in Recife – Olinda « vanidio

Leave a Reply

