Rainforest

Standard

So… today we had planned a hike in the forest of Barra Da Tijuca, the largest urban forest in the world, with a bunch of people from CS. Am I a hiker? Um, no. But I thought I’d try – I’ll try anything once, twice if I like it etc.

So the day started with a bright blue sky! I decided to use sunblock for once, as the sun was scorching before 10am! So we happily crammed in a little van and went all the way to the entrance of the forest.

That was my first time in the jungle and I was surprised to see that I wasn’t scared of bugs. None crawled on me, but I caught myself observing some strange-looking insects – not too close, ofcourse…

So we arrived at a nice waterfall – I didn’t really want to get all my clothes wet so I didn’t go under it… Our team leader decided to take us to another waterfall – had I ever seen a waterfall inside a cave? No! It was cool, but I didn’t really want to get all my clothes wet etc etc so I didn’t go under it 🙂

So it was time to head back.

And then the rain started.

Rain? No. It was more like a waterfall… I think I’ve seen this kind of rain before – perhaps once or twice – but getting caught in the forest with that sort of rain was quite a new experience…

After a good half-hour’s walk and all of my stuff soaked (hopefully my camera has survived…) we found our way to civilisation… I was quite happy to take off my soaking wet socks!

Would I do it again? Hm – I guess so – after all, I didn’t know it was going to rain 😛

Dario, my next host, took us to a fantastic restaurant with more than 50 different dishes! Yum!!! They have so many dishes with cheese here… They also had lots and lots of different types of pizza… even sweet pizza with chocolate, banana and smarties….!!!

This is a crazy country 🙂

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

Leave a Reply

