One year off work :)

Standard

Summer 2011 was so crazy… Road trips, hosting, swimming, tanning, meeting new people and old friends… Making music, meeting musicians and artists, feeling more and more certain that “I have to change something in my life”…

And, finally, one summer day, I took the decision… In the middle of the crisis in Greece, and ignoring everyone who told me that I was crazy, I asked for a year off work.

I got it.

I can’t remember the last time I was so happy… (well – I can, but that’s another discussion!)

The very next day I bought a return ticket to Rio De Janeiro. 

I’m leaving on 10th December, and have booked a random day to come back to Greece – 15th August 2012. If there is a Greece then, there should be no strikes on that day, it’s August and noone goes on strike then. Plus, I’ll get three summers in one year…!!!

About Vanidio

I was born in Athens, Greece, and left at the not-so-tender age of 27 to go to London for a master's degree - or, rather, to go experience the city. I worked there for a while, and after four years I decided to move back to Athens, and got a really boring job with a decent (more than decent) salary. In December 2011 I took a year off work, and travelled to Latin America, Europe, Greece and the Middle East. When I came back, I spent quite a bit of time trying to fit in and organise my "normal" life - or decide that I don't really want a "normal" life. At that time, travelling was more important to me than almost anything else... And then things changed a bit, as I got an offer from a foreign company to organise tours for foreigners in Athens. Dream coming true? Yes! We've done a few tours so far, and hopefully more are coming... let's see! And then things changed even more, as I met a nice, handsome foreigner through one of these tours. And we are now living together, and planning our next trips together :) Life is strange, isn't it!

2 responses »

  1. I hope you find a little minute or two to stop by Brasilia and visit me! Not many people come this way (because of the lack of a beach!) but it’s a nice and interesting city, and there’s lots of different places to explore. 🙂

    Patty

Leave a Reply

